-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

everyone says they know you

I am taking a wellness day. Otherwise known as calling in sick.

Indeed, I woke up with a pincer-grip of a headache that did not go away until after 11 and now I'm sitting here listening to Cat Power and contemplating things to get done. C. hates it when I call in sick and then spend my time doing things not related to the couch. But, well, perhaps if I get caught up on some things I will sleep better and then not wake up with headaches.

The house is quiet, airy and if I think about it too hard, the quiet airiness of it all threatens to freak me out because, wow, I am an adult and I own this house. Or, so to speak, anyway. This is my little piece of whatever and, frankly, I'm not always sure that I want it. It's cliche, I'm sure, but there are moments I just want to be 27 again, on the brink of all that newness, all those possibilities, all those fears that propelled me.

What do you do when you're married, own a house and are consumed not by one, but two jobs? How do you find new possibilities when you can barely open your eyes beyond the next few days? These days, that's what scares me most. The possibility of not seeing something that could be so beautiful and new.

Maybe this is what I get for listening to Cat Power this morning. Damn you Chan Marshall with your husky, what-if soaked voice.

12:53 pm - 15.04.08

sounds: Cat Power
words: Barack Obama
i am: taking a (cough) wellness day

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate