-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tidings of comfort and joy....

Note: the bulk of the following entry was written at 8 a.m on Christmas Eve but because the database was down, it was not posted until 12:07 a.m. Christmas morning


Thank you to everyone for the lovely birthday wishes....

After a day of last-minute Christmas shopping and driving, I was finally able to relax at dinner (Thai food) and during the movie ("Far From Heaven")

And let it be noted that, for the first time since I moved out of my mother's house 13 years ago - both of my brothers called to wish me a happy birthday....

Let it also be noted that yesterday I got carded by a teenage checker while buying wine beneath the bright flourescent lights at Trader Joe's. GB says it's because, in my chinos, hooded sweatshirt and Converse, I was dressed like a 15-year-old. Whatever the case, let's just say that was a nice birthday present indeed....

We have to be at my aunt's house at 4 today but that feels like a million light years away.

Of course once I start making the cranberry sauce, commence with baking and dive into the present-wrapping it won't feel far enough away at all. Luckily the spouse gets home at 12:30 and can help me then.

In the middle of shopping yesterday I got a call from my doctor's office - so yes, I was that annoying person talking on the phone while you were trying to buy the last Chicken Dance Whatever....

Anyhoo...I do indeed have an underactive thyroid. A VERY underactive thyroid. A normal person's TSH level is between .5 and 5.5 - mine is 16.9 which means that my thyroid seems to have been on vacation for quite a while.

Which might explain why I've felt continuously exhausted for oh, about the last five years - or something like that. So, after I finished Christmas shopping yesterday I dropped by the pharmacy and picked up some medication. I'll take the medication for two weeks and then go back in to talk to the doctor and take another test.

I cant tell you how relieved I am to find out there is something 'wrong' with me - that might sound strange, but it means that this is not just all in my head ... it means there is something that can be done about the constant exhaustion.

It's also a much better reason-for-feeling sick than, say, Dying of Cancer.

Anyway, I still don't know much about it, but I'm going to e-mail her and pick her brain for more details...

Alright....must go attend to the cranberries and wrapping-of-presents and other holiday cheer sorts of things....

Happy Holidays to all...

xoxo

~S


So everything was accomplished and Christmas at my aunt's house was its usual Peyton's Place-meets-The Ice Storm loveliness (but more on that later - later as in not today).....and then post-family show at the cafe with lots of socializing and after GB's set I asked him to drive me home so that I could collapse. My head hurts. My stomach hurts. My bones hurt...my Christmas cheer is achy and ailing and I need sleep before there will be any more tidings of comfort and joy.....

but despite all my grumpiness - all is good...really

xoxo

~S

12:04 am - 12.25.02

sounds: not a creature is stirring except (you know the rest....)
words:
i am: trying to hold on to my holiday cheer

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate