-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

crazy insane

I tried to post yesterday and Diaryland ate my entry....so feh on that.....

and today I have done everything I can to avoid doing hard work. Oh, I've gotten things done...but mostly small things, easy things...now it's three-thirty-ish and I must move on to the hard stuff

but really I'd rather:

  • make a mix CD
  • plan a road trip
  • shop for summer clothes
  • make some roasted veggies w/ goat cheese
  • drink iced tea with lemon
  • read a good book
  • or trashy magazine
  • nap with my cats

Yesterday we went to the bank and found out that, theoretically, we could afford a $400K home. Heh. In some nice alternate reality maybe. When I told the lender that we didn't want to spend more than $1700 (including tax & insurance) a month on our mortgage he smirked and snarked: well that won't buy you much of a house.

Yeah fuck you too mister.

Sure we can spend upwards of $3K on a mortgage and then if one of us loses our job or if there's an emergency or if we ever want to go out to dinner or buy new clothes or take a vacation, forget it.

The median house price here is now $297K...As we don't have much in the way of a down payment, we are looking for a house that is $250K or less. And not in a totally crap neighborhood. To be able to afford even this we're going to have to do a p1ggyback loan that has either a five-year or seven-year adjustable interest rate that we will eventually have to refinance. I am already starting to feel anxious about whether or not our house will gain the required five percent equity w/in that time frame and/or whether by the time we refinance the interest rates are suddenly sky high.

It just kills me that the bank thinks we can afford a mortgage that's twice as much. I'm sorry, I've already lived through subsisting on top ramen and popcorn. I don't need to do it again. While I'm more than willing to make financial cuts, I don't want to be a slave to my house.

I swear to God this whole house thing is seriously aging me...I'm losing sleep, getting sick to my stomach, feeling moody. And everyone keeps me telling me how fun this is supposed to be. I'm sorry, but there's nothing fun about banking your future on a bunch of "what-ifs" and "maybes" and "possibilies". In any case, GB and I have agreed that we will be very happy if we get into something that's less than $250K - even if it is just 2 bedrooms, one bath and under 1000K square feet. The only thing we really really want in a house is hardwood floors and a half-way decent neighborhood - a neighborhood good for early morning jogs and evening walks...is that too much to ask?

OK, I'm sorry, I know I've been whining about this a lot lately. I'll try to keep it to myself for awhile.....

3:39 pm - 05.25.04

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate