-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

play it as it lays

This year i refused to make any New Year's resolutions and so far so good - it certainly feels good to not having anything to not live up to.

But, as I mentioned before, I do have goals. Goals that I'm excited about. This year I suddenly feel a lot closer to my future and for once it's a good feeling.

Mostly good anyways - although last week in a fit of but i don't want to get older I had the realization that I can't live the long and healthy life I've always wanted to live unless I get older.

It's good when I have brain flashes like that. So hello wrinkles, hello life.

Some indications that 2004 might rock like no other:

  • Received $200 worth of free beauty products from a major woman's magazine because I signed up to "test" products on their Web site. Do you know how fun it is to open up a package and find free full-sized Chanel and Estee Lauder products? It's very fun.
  • Cheap-o airliner is now flying red-eye from my city to NYC which means we are right now in the midst of planning a summer trip to visit TRNYC...whoo-hoo!
  • GB's mother is giving us a check for about $5K later this month - part of some T-bills she's cashing out from his grandmother's estate. We're putting this towards the down payment for a house.

Ok that's it for now, there are a few other good things that I could mention but I don't want to over-do it and really and truly jinx everything.

The weekend was pretty nice in general. After the spouse and I got our regulation weekend fight out of the way on Friday night we spent some good time together at a club and then later at a casual little restaurant where we watched the game and ate very cheesy pizza. Saturday was his grandmother's memorial service. It was a cold but bright and sunny morning and the cemetary, surrounded by mountains, was a peaceful place to remember her life. The ceremony was nice - the pastor asked people to share stories about the woman they used to call Queenie and there were lots of good ones that made us both laugh and cry.

Saturday night I spent time with K - dinner, an art show - and then we met up with GB at the club for some good rock'n'roll. Sunday we slept in very late and then ran errands and finally spent the evening watching the second Lord of the R1ngs film with the Band - eating lots of junk food and pausing the DVD every 20 minutes to ask questions. Seeing the final installment in the theater is going to be a bit of a let down I think - what with no pause button or endless bowls of chocolate-covered pretzels.

All in all I've enjoyed the first 12 days of 2004. Good times. Good friends. Good hopes for the future.

Who knows where this year will actually end up, but here's to the journey.

1:54 pm - 01.12.04

sounds: Phantom P1anet
words:
i am: optimistic

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate