-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

on summer malaise, freaking out and other good things

Been going through a strange bout of summer malaise--and feeling pretty guilty for it. My health is relatively good, despite all the age- and auto-immune-related ailments. I'm strong and can do things even if my weight is up a good 8-10 pounds from this last time year. I have friends and family who love me even if it feels like it's so hard to connect and make time.

Still. I think part of it is that the summer is half over and I have so much left on my to-do list--including things that are non-negotiable, such as prepping for this new class. I've only read two chapters of the book so far but I've told myself I have to prep at least half of it before school starts--essentially through the midterm. I can do this. Plus I'm supposed to be working on act for a play that my friend asked me to help him with. Essentially I'm writing an entire act and he gave me very little direction and he wants it by this weekend and yes I've had a month but this is hard shit and I JUST now found out he wants it to be 20-30 pages. Initially, he gave me some very vague non-answer when I asked. I have 10 pages right now and I told him I'd give him 15 by weekend's end so that he could give me feedback, etc. I've never really written a play before so, yeah, why did I agree to do this?

I just feel summer slipping away and I feel a little bereft with how fast everything goes. Headed to Minneapolis next week for a five-day journalism conference and while I'm actually pretty excited for it I'm also painfully aware of how it will cut into my time for freelancing and book writing.

On that note I did dust off the book and have started to revise from the ground up. A very painful process if you're curious.

On a related note, I got a dream freelance assignment today. Literally just landed in my lap because a friend recommended me to the editor. Freaking out and worried I won't do a good job. But I have to. C's response was to high five me and then say, "Good ol' Shivers: Always saying yes to more work"

But it's not just any work. It is seriously a dream publication. I can't decide if this assignment is the best or worst cure for my summer malaise. Honestly, it's probably the best because even if it's carving out even more time from my time off it's something I've always wanted.

BRB need to go freak out and then get to work.

12:33 pm - 06.07.18

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

gazing off at a ship that's sailed - 15.07.18 - 8:45 pm

peak me - 12.07.18 - 7:52 pm

how much do these bragging rights cost? - 11.07.18 - 6:11 pm

coulda been a contender - 10.07.18 - 5:49 pm

god, stop being such a baby - 09.07.18 - 7:43 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
thruthecrowd
histamine
narcissa
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate
andrew