-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

goodbye to all that...(pt. 2)

Just one week to go for the semester.

Yesterday I completely broke down in front of my magazine workshop professor. And also realized how annoying two girls in my fiction workshop are.

Re: breaking down -- My professor & I were discussing the essay rewrite I need to know and she started asking me some personal questions that related to the essay topic. Questions about my parents, my father, and I just lost it. Luckily it was just the two of us in the room (it was after class) and she understood and started telling me about her her father and her own estranged relationship with him. And afterwards she gave me a hug and I just felt that much less alone and silly and pitiful.

Re: annoying classmates. I've had E & K in every workshop I've ever had in this MFA program and while they're basically the two people I've hung out with the most at school, they can also really really annoy the crap out of me. They are two of the most conniving, catty people I've ever met. Jesus, why do I hang out with them? Yesterday E. remarked that she'd bought VDW (her thesis director) a bottle of expensive bourbon as a thank-you gift. This freaked K out because she hasn't bought her thesis director a thank-you gift.

That's really smart of you K. says. Do you think I should get G. a gift?.

And then she proceeded to obsess over the topic for the next 20 minutes. And it's not at all about thanking the director - it's about connections. These are the same two people who schemed about going to M's book release party because Famous Writer A and Famous Writer B and Famous Writer C would be there and who cares if Famous Writer C is a drip and blah blah blah...

Blah!

On the way home from school I had to call K., whom I have not talked to (except via e-mail) in nearly THREE weeks and it was so good to talk with a real friend and to be snarky and catty and (!) with someone who is down-to-earth and funny and not in the least bit scheming.

E & K are fun in their own ways but, really - as I realized yesterday - I will not miss them in the slightest. They are like the Heathers of the MFA program and I have no desire to be that third Heather - at least not their Heather.

Just one more class, one more class...

1:04 pm - 04.29.04

sounds: Quasi - Hot Shit (yes, again)
words: work stuff
i am: ready to be done with the semester....

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate