-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

in which I can guilt students with the best of them

Sunday morning, woke up without an alarm, drinking hot black coffee and despite the ever-expanding to-do list (groceries, school, etc), I feel generally relaxed.

It helps there are only three weeks of school left and other than one marathon spate of paper-grading, most of the work is on them now. Hee, that's the good part of teaching, I think. Kidding.

Actually, I had one-on-one conferences with them last week and I wish I'd done that sooner (note to self, re: future semesters). It was really good getting some individual time in and, yes, that includes with the Problem Student. I started off by bringing up his reading journal and told him that a) I wasn't offended and b) I got why he was frustrated and c) what suggestions would he make for future classes?

I was pretty direct but hopefully not confrontational and he seemed more than a little surprised but by the end of our little chat he was actually apologizing to me for the way the class is so hard to draw out (Mrs. R used to beg us - she'd make us feel guilty." Oh HELL, is that ALL? I can guilt with the best of them. Done) and saying how he liked this part of the class and how I was really good at getting students to tap into their own voices and so on and so forth.

Sigh. I really do actually like all of these kids - some of them are shy and are reluctant to make eye contact with the weird teacher lady but during that one-on-one even those came to life a bit - one girl very excitedly told me her idea for her final proposal paper - focusing on this mega drama in the Korean pop world (proposal: kick the offending members out of the controversial band in question) and I love that idea because I think she'll really be able to dig into it with some enthusiasm. Plus, I'll get to learn more about Korean pop music.

Sunday morning: Need more coffee. Need more time. Generally, though, feeling OK about everything.

9:41 am - 27.04.08

sounds: Bill Callahan - Woke on a Whaleheart
words: sunday papers
i am: loving that there are only 3 weeks of school left

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate