-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

it's the start of the breakdowns

Well, it happened. I got into my first choice for grad school.

I'm pretty happy and excited about this but, of course, imposter syndrome has already set in:

They just want my money and didn't have enough applicants this year.

I won't live up to the letters of recommendation and I will disappoint everyone greatly

I will flame out within the first semester

This won't result in anything of worth because you're not good enough

I'm doing my best to ignore/push through the stupid voices in my head. I've actually started the program already with a summer school class on narrative writing. It should take me two years to complete the program and it's nearly entirely remote except for the in-person residencies.

Unfortunately, due to the plague, this summer's week-long residency is virtual but the director of grad studies is tentatively planning a mid-October four-day mini residency.

Last time I went to grad school I took two classes per semester and commuted 90 minutes each way to get there. I was still at the big corporate paper then but I had a boss who was more than willing to work with me on my schedule (it helped that I was covering the local arts/nightlife then and could essentially create the schedule I needed). Still, even with that support I had a meltdown about half-way through the semester because I felt overwhelmed with the workload, etc. After that one day (sobbing, panic attack), however I somehow pushed ahead and finished the program in two-and-half years (it was a two-year program but because it was in person I could only go part-time--which I tried to make up for by taking summer school classes/independent studies).

This first full semester in the fall I'll still be teaching remotely from home so I hope that makes the transition a little easier--still I'm prepared that there may be a breakdown or two.

Anyway, here's to new academic adventures. And meltdowns.

7:44 pm - 04.06.21

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

always in my head space - 27.04.22 - 1:44 pm

shut up and write - 02.02.22 - 5:28 pm

consolation prizes - 22.12.21 - 7:27 pm

forever if i could - 16.12.21 - 8:50 pm

getting schooled - 17.09.21 - 8:30 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
browndamask
linguafranca
reddirtgirl
jimbostaxi
achmardi
muppet23
inarticulate
widgetbitch
jim515
u-saved-me
silverluna
andrew
thruthecrowd
narcissa
dangerspouse
histamine
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
birdandegg
fuck--that
sparkspark
gizzhead
veganfuckk
oh-sweet-pea
boombasticat
astralounge
ratherbored
but-whatever
gingeryette
dearedwin
ann-frank
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
miserystar
allmadhere