-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Make it Work (Fuck the Haters)

Write. Write. WRITE. And yes, this does count as writing. Really, it does. And I'm not just saying that because I'm here filling in my own words into that blank white box against a purple background.

(But also: Read. Read. READ. Because reading truly feeds the soul and sometimes I feel like it's the easiest so-called "selfish" thing we can do for ourself. And by "selfish" I mean "necessary").

Writing nonfiction is so much easier for me, too. Part of wonders if I should just throw in the fiction towel because I just do better with finding perspective in facts. I don't know. Sometimes I love writing fiction, sometimes it literally feels like it's going to kill me. Like when J., the almost-semi-famous-ish person who conducted the fiction workshop I did this summer told me I need to think really hard about why I'm writing my book because "your heart's not in it and it's clear." Oof, right?

Still, it's not stopping me yet. Even if what I'm writing is shit. It helps to have people hold you accountable. My friend G (the singer in C's band) and I are currently reading each other's book drafts (mine is such a patchwork pile of crap, but still) and we've scheduled a writing date--which, if I'm being honest probably just means we're going to meet up with our laptops at some quiet place where we can sip wine and chat. But sometimes that's half the battle--just having that partner in crime. In fact that's what she said the other night "We're lucky we have each other."

I don't even know what I'm trying to say here, honestly, except that I want to read what you write. And I'm here if you ever need moral support or a long-distance writing date or anything, really. Oh, And fuck the haters. Definitely that: Fuck the haters.

I wonder if Jim Carrey makes house calls? Or Tim Gunn. That's who I really want in my life. Some kind soul just following me around, uttering encouragements and gentle admonishments to "make it work."

8:37 pm - 12.09.17

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

bring your own lampshade, somewhere there's a pity party - 26.09.17 - 6:25 pm

autumnal malaise - 25.09.17 - 7:10 pm

in which i hate feeling as though i'm not acing this thing - 22.09.17 - 6:11 pm

We all float on - 20.09.17 - 10:14 am

work, work, work - 18.09.17 - 7:59 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

histamine
secret-motel
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
raven72d
narcissa
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate