-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

traveling mercies

Well here we are in Chicago � this will be my last post until I get back on Wednesday. We reached the end of Route 66 at 2:15 today. Photographed and videotaped the 'event� � let out a victory cry (OK, more of a weary victory yelp) and then hit a corner bakery for lunch. Turns out it�s the exact same place Cupcake and I ate with her brother and sister when we went to the Chicago Art Institute (four years ago).

Tomorrow I take the train back. It�s a two day trip. GB keeps telling me I should upgrade to a sleeper car but I think that�s a $500 difference. And seeing as how I ruined the camera by dropping it in the toilet in a Wendy�s bathroom somewhere in Missouri, I don�t really have the money to spare. GB was very understanding about the camera. When I told him I had bad news he was more worried someone was going to steal the laptop.

Anyway, arg � part of me wishes I was flying home tomorrow instead of taking the train but the other part of me is glad I�m going to experience seeing part of the country this way. Plus it should give me plenty of time to read and write and just think about everything this trip has taught me and everything I�m still learning. Got an e-mail from Cupcake who didn�t know I was doing this until I sent her the group e-mail��Is this still the search for --?� she asked�. �I don�t know,� I replied back to her this morning. �I�m still trying to figure out what I�m searching for and what I�m finding.�

Talked to GB last night for a long time. It�s hard to catch up on each other�s lives in just 45 minutes and as we�re both aware of the phone bill climbing higher and higher we try to rush through the conversation and end up feeling cheated.

�I really really miss you,� he said, sounding truly sad and desperate. I felt the same way exactly. As fun as this has been, I so very much miss my husband and my cats and my bed and my kitchen and my usual food and seeing my friends. But that�s one of the gifts that traveling gives you. The gift of perspective. The gift of knowledge and awareness and realization.

At some point after I get back home I�ll write more about the trip. It�s been harder to recap it day to day than I thought it would be (either here or in my regular journal)�mostly I�m too tired � physically and emotionally.

back in a few days...

4:52 p.m. - 2001-07-29

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate