-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the same mistakes

Do you know that "random entry" feature on Diaryland? Sometimes I like to click it to bring up random entries on my diary. I've had this diary for 10 years how.

Ten. Years.

And so clicking on it becomes an odd little digital trip into the past--one in which I usually read the entry--like this and think who the hell is thatperson?

Surreal.

Things have stabilized a little bit around these parts. We've applied to participate in the government $hort $ale program (sorry, don't want any Googlers ending up here). If it works out we get $3,000 back in cash and much less of a hit on our credit.

If it doesn't, well then we're back to foreclosure which would mostly be horrible because it'd mean we probably couldn't buy another house for 7 years. If this plan works I'd like to save up to buy something within 3-4 years before the prices go up again.

The best part, though, is that we've already secured another place to live--moving in August 1. I suppose we could try to stretch out living here longer (thus, saving more money or paying off debt) but I've figured out I can still pay off at least $4500 in debt (any major emergencies notwithstanding) between now and then.

The new place is owned by my best friend, the rent is very affordable, the place is super cute and we would be neighbors. It'd be like that childhood dream--living next door to my best friend. C is really down with the idea. Oh and it's also in a great neighborhood and within walking distance of a lot of great places to eat, a movie theater, a bookstore and a record store.

The only downsides are that it's a duplex and we'd be sharing utilities and the garage with the other person (but we also are really good friends with her so that's not really a big deal) and it's a little on the smaller side but really it's time for us to purge anyway.

I'm taking it all as a positive--I'm so ready to move on. You know, fresh start and all.

I've become incredibly thrifty as of late--returning to the mindset I had while in college and in my early 20s. It's been great and I'm so proud of the way I've been saving and paying down cards. I only wish I'd had this mindset 5 years ago when I was making a lot more money--I could have saved tons. But live and learn and don't make the same mistakes twice, right?

1:21 pm - 13.05.11

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

Mind the gap - 01.09.15 - 11:26 am

At the sound of a phone ringing - 31.08.15 - 12:59 pm

Home again - 13.07.15 - 3:47 pm

Our friends and neighbors .... - 07.07.15 - 11:24 am

what we'll leave behind - 19.06.15 - 4:00 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

secret-motel
raven72d
moodswing
arajane
yourtipsucks
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
dearedwin
miralogue
ann-frank
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
mrs-roboto
nudeplatypus
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate