-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The nerves, they are a rattling

I went in for the interview at the weekly on Friday - my old boss and the arts editor - and I felt oddly nervous even though they called me. Felt nervous even though they told me they had 291 applicants - "some of them very good writers," the arts editor said - but had chosen to push pause on the process and bring me in to talk.

Felt nervous afterward when the arts editor walked me downstairs and said he would be excited to work with me, that "I could learn a lot from you."

Um.

There's a lot going on in that 'um.'

I felt like I rambled on and on to every question they gave me. I feel nervous about returning there although I'm excited about the chance to do longform journalism again. I'm nervous about working with the arts editor because although he is extremely nice he is also young. And cute. Oh, so cute.(NOT THAT IT MATTERS BECAUSE I'M AN OLD MARRIED LADY, DO YOU HEAR ME???)

I guess I shouldn't have been so nervous though - 39 minutes after I left, the arts editor called and offered me the job.

So now it just comes down to figuring out the money. The pay is fairly low but the time commitment is perfect - 16 hours a week - with the option to write more and earn more at a freelance rate. RV, my longtime friend from forever ago who first hired me to work there and is now back there again, thinks he can negotiate me a good freelance rate. We'll see.

I think I'm excited though. And nervous. Maybe that will just always be a part of who I am.

7:35 pm - 06.06.09

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate