-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

haven't got time for the pain

I haven't received official notice but this is the note I got from the professor who said they'd be crazy not to hire me:

I attended your presentation at XX State. I spoke to you briefly afterwards. I told everyone, including the committee, that you were clearly the best candidate. You are incredibly bright, knowledgeable, and articulate, and interesting. The department missed a great opportunity to upgrade the journalism program. I am really depressed about this.

I'm not sure if it was the lack of a PhD or something else but it felt like a punch to the gut at first and I quickly shut my office door and called C to tell him. He listened and was patient when the conversation started veering into self-pity.

And then we hung up and I went back to work and, strangely, within the hour I felt better. Which is not to say that I didn't break down and cry late in the afternoon or indulge in another pity party when I got home.

But I also started thinking--the reasons I'd been conflicted about the job (having to give writing full-time) had now been addressed. The teaching job at the community college is still on the table down the line. wo of my colleagues there--one of whom is the department chair--really want me to inherit their jobs when they retire. Which will be within the next few years. They want me to eventually pick up more classes to ready for it and then while there's no guarantee I'd get the job, I'd at least be as positioned for it as anyone ever could be.

All this and, as D. helpfully pointed out, this means I have time to finish my book this summer. Which I will. Damn it.

As tempting as it is to mope about it, there's not really any point to that.

Because aside from not having summers off anytime soon, my life is still like I like it.

And that's not a bad thing.

4:27 pm - 17.05.13

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

what the kids are into - 11.06.13 - 10:37 am

in the aeroplane over the sea... - 04.06.13 - 1:25 pm

that stoner kid from the neighbohood uptown a ways. - 24.05.13 - 10:57 am

best tiger friend forever - 22.05.13 - 7:30 am

the meh of May - 20.05.13 - 1:00 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate