-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bring your own lampshade, somewhere there's a pity party

On the subject of antidotal playlists (which, YES, I agree) I have one that's a soundtrack for my book. At this point it is more vibrant and realized than my book but in many ways that's the point. It serves as inspiration. Sometimes it puts me in a writing mood; sometimes it make me reflective; sometimes it's just fun to listen to. I also have a "Badass women" playlist and a few such others that are just about putting me in a productive, non-wallowing mood.

Which brings me to this: I think last week's peer review really put me in a funk. I keep thinking about it and I know we tend to focus on the negative when we get feedback but when I stop and think about it I can't recall him saying something positive other than "your students really like you; they think you're knowledgeable; they think you're smart and funny and caring." And I'm not discounting those positives that he told me but as I think about it I'm surprised he didn't actually give me positive feedback from his perspective. That wasn't the case last semester when he did my PRT. So, I'm left to wonder did he just choose to laser in on the area where he thinks I could use improvement....or....?

And then there's this other part of me that wonders where is the line between giving someone constructive feedback and imposing your own teaching style upon them? For example, he suggested I start every class with a group activity. He teaches persuasive thinking and public speaking and I suspect that works very well in that class but in a class that covers the history, present and future of m*ss m*dia, well I'm not so sure. We do have group activities and I know the students like them--but every class period? I just don't think so.

Anyway, I'm going to try to let it go for now--I have two more peer reviews this semester in two different classes with two different instructors.

All of that said, classes went well today; I felt like most students were engaged in all of my classes and I was reminded of why I like being in the classroom.

I do miss writing on a daily/weekly basis so that's one thing I really need to figure out--how do I carry a full teaching load and still remain an active journalist? And by "active" I mean a story a month maybe? At least every two months? More in the summer?

I think my whole point of this entry is that it's not a total pity party over here. Just an occasional one. Bring your own lampshade, the drinks are on me.

6:25 pm - 26.09.17

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

in which I am a goddamned adult about these kinds of things - 06.10.17 - 8:25 pm

breakdown - 04.10.17 - 7:43 pm

purple to blue, whoa - 01.10.17 - 1:27 pm

a little less dreadful - 29.09.17 - 9:10 pm

So that's that. - 27.09.17 - 9:31 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
thruthecrowd
histamine
narcissa
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate
andrew