-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Got.Some.Shit.Done

Today is sort of a trial run at being unemployed.

And by unemployed, I mean still having a 7:30 a.m. English class that pays me shit.

I'm taking a "wellness day" - this is what you get for not calling in sick for six months. You can't cash it out so I'm taking it today.

Today, with the idea that I will, for reals, be unemployed come March 27 (OK, not technically - because they'll still pay me til mid-May - they just don't want to see me anymore. It's not me, it's them), I decided to try my hand at what this will feel like.

So far I have Got. Some. Shit. Done.

I had class - and gave them an extra day for the in-class mid-term, just out of the goodness of my heart.

I got my car smogged. I went to Target and very very very carefully did not overspend.

I also got a cheap pedicure because, I'm sorry even when I'm ass-backwards broke I need pretty red toenails and I'm incapable of doing painting them without it looking as though my feet committed murder.

Now I've been home for the last few hours. I've eaten a cheap but tasty, healthy homemade lunch. I've cuddled with my cat.

I've blasted the iTunes (Matt Pond, PA, Apples in Stereo, Sufjan ...).

I've written. I signed up for an online essay writing class through MediaB*stro

I'm not entirely sure about the class yet - it maybe feels a little too "thank YOU so much for sharing and what a cute picture of your baby" chick flick-y but shut up Shivers because you haven't even attended the first weekly chat session yet but you've already revised one previously written essay and started a brand new one.

People are also giving me tons of contacts and tips on freelance work and I had better not be sitting here a year from now feeling sorry for myself. I better have Done. Something.

Now I'm going to go shower and then work on the essay some more.

Because that's what you do on your trial unemployment day - you test out the flexibility.

3:51 pm - 18.03.09

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate