-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sickish

I think the threat of fire has largely passed for P's family--thank goodness. She and B are driving supplies up to the shelter tomorrow. Somebody on social media tried to shame me when I put out a call for donations, citing "multiple articles" that said the shelters didn't need anything and would end up throwing supplies away. Seriously, people? The shelter in question specifically asked for the things we collected. Why are people so damn smug?

I've been sick-ish this week. For the second time in six weeks I've got some sort of weird flu--slight fever, aching, etc. C is worried and wanted me to go to the doctor but I staved him off by promising to talk to my mother, who was a nurse. We had lunch today and I expected her to dismiss my symptoms* in the same way the internet largely has** but, instead, she noted that the older you get the lower your base temperature becomes so a fever of 99.5 or 100 for a 40something woman could be similar to a fever of 101-102 in a kid.

I promised I'd call the advice nurse tomorrow if it persists.

Feeling overwhelmed about a lot of things. Why did I agree to go back to the paper? Oh, yeah, I love the people in the newsroom and we need the money.
I have so much work to do before school starts and I'm starting to freak out a bit and the second I set foot inside the newsroom again it was like I'd never left with everyone swarming in my office ("You're still calling it your office," C noted with a laugh. Well, it is--no one's used it since I left) with questions and problems.

Also, this article I'm working on for the dream pub is not going well. They loved the draft--or so they said--but the notes I got back were EPIC and when I sent back a sample of how I was planning to restructure it the editor seemed a bit frustrated with it until I reminded her it was just a rough draft sample but the actual finished article. So, yeah, I'm nervous.

I should probably stop whining here and get back to puzzling over it.

*dismissive not because she's uncaring but rather because she's a nurse--in other words, very practical and clinical

**the internet has both advised me to stop being such a baby and that I probably have lymphoma. Good times.

8:21 pm - 02.08.18

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

17 years or 17 seconds? - 11.09.18 - 9:57 pm

come pick me up - 08.09.18 - 3:17 pm

Let's say that to each other more often, OK? - 21.08.18 - 3:49 pm

we all have that one friend, right? - 20.08.18 - 10:50 am

happy and grateful - 14.08.18 - 9:48 am

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
thruthecrowd
histamine
narcissa
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate
andrew