-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

one step forward, two steps back

I thought I'd have more time to write here - you know, being unemployed and all -but turns out I've stayed pretty busy. The first two months - when I was still technically on payroll - I did a lot of cleaning and organizing (although it amazes me how much more there is still to do). Also did a lot of "networking" - coffee dates, informational interviews, email-writing, etc.

Now, a few weeks into my official unemployment things are moving along at a fast clip. I have a lot of freelance assignments - with the newspaper, ironically enough. They can't afford to keep me but they can afford to use me on a per-article basis. I also have freelance assignments with my old employer - the weekly newspaper - AND, I just got an assignment with another daily newspaper. There are few other things in the works too plus it looks like I'll have 2 classes next semester! So this whold thing just might work out after all. I've also been working on writing up a treatment for a teen book series with an old friend from high school and I'm doing some of my own writing too.

Steady job? Who needs it? Well, let's hope at least. If I can stay organized and disciplined and motivated this just might work out.

Also, we are moving forward with the baby plans. By "moving forward" I mean I have visited the doctor and had blood work done and now we're waiting for the results on that (you know just in case there's something obviously wrong with me now that I'm of an (gulp) 'advanced maternal age'). It almost feels unreal to start talking baby - it's for so long just been an abstract concept in my future life. It's hard to believe that the future might be taking shape now.

We are still trying to figure out the house thing - modifying our loan - but it looks like it'll be another 3 weeks before we hear from them. In the meantime, our mortage payment went down due to an overage in our escrow account AND we got a nice refund check to the tune of $1000 - this was a nice bright spot in a month that also saw a big plumbing bill and news that it will cost us an extra $375 a month for me to go on GB's health insurance. It is, always it seems, one step forward, two steps back but I guess this dance is better than nothing at all.


I'm also working on

11:34 am - 29.05.09

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate