-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the final push to the sum

So, I did my oral report on Wednesday and after I was done. I felt as if it had gone fairly well.

Then, yesterday, I received this e-mail from my professor:

Hi, xxx and Shivers.

I was quite impressed with both of your oral reports, and I'm wondering if you might have any interest in serving as my TAs in my contemporary Fiction course next fall. It would involve signing up for Eng 277 Advanced Practicum, for which you would receive 1 course credit that could count as an elective. If you need another literature class, you could also sign up for an independent study with me at the same time, covering the same books, some of which we read this semester, but you could go into more depth about them for the i.s..

Duties of the TAs in this class will include taking attendance, reading in-class writing, and holding office hours. You could also lead a few class discussions if you felt like it. It's a great opportunity to get experience teaching literature to English majors and even grad students, and at the end of it I would write a letter to go in your placement file. There will be 25 students in the course. 23 are already enrolled, and that doesn't count incoming students. But the cap is 25, and I will hold it there.

Interested?

thanks,

Professor X

Um, I guess that means I really did do well on my oral report? I'm definitely interested - the only hitch is that I already have signed up for a class at the same time hers is offered - it's a class about teaching, ironically enough. The class I'm signed up for deals with teaching composition to first year students and requires TA experience doing the same (I am/was planning to do a TA with V. here in town)...now I don't know what to do. This seems like a really good opportunity, and certainly less dry than the 'theories and strategies' class...but, in regards to the long term do I really need the theories class more? Because, since I don't have a bachelor's or MA in English - what chance do I really have of teaching English lit, unless I buckle down at some point and backtrack on some classes and then move forward for a Ph.D? (A very daunting thought, mind you)....Should I just stick with the English composition stuff - or should I take an opportunity I might not get otherwise and then stay an extra semester in school (through Spring 2005 - a decision I've been stewing on anyway) and take the theories class next Fall???? ARRRRGGGGHHHH... It seems like a great offer/opportunity ...but it does complicate things...

Still, I am very happy that she liked me work...I guess that 1/2 of an Ativan pill I took before my class (you think I'm joking...I'm not) helped somewhat .... not to mention all the work I put into it...

Speaking of which - I still have massive work to do in this class. Today I have to finish the draft for my term paper - it's due Monday. A week from Monday is our final - worth 1/3 of my grade...I guess I don't want to bomb on either the paper or final - or else my professor might have second thoughts about that TA position...

OK, off to shower and then back to the books....

9:27 am - 05.02.03

sounds: a Six Degrees sampler
words: the Annotated Lo1ita
i am: contemplating

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate