-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lookin; at the world through a windshield

Somewhere past Gallup, NM. We just ate lunch in Gallup � some little hippie, artsy caf� where we could actually get a veggie sandwich. As we were eating I looked up at this clock sitting on a bookshelf and thought, �how odd, that clock says 1pm � I guess they didn�t set their clocks back after daylight savings time. It�s really only noon.�

No, it was actually 1pm�don�t you think that there should be freeway signs that announce time zone changes? K. and I COMPLETELY forgot about the time zone change which means instead of the two hours we thought we had to get to Albuquerque, we now only have an hour. Or more precisely, it is now 1:55 pm and we are supposed to be at the airport to pick up J. and KM at 2:15. That�s just not going to happen. I think we still have another 90 miles or so to. Luckily they told us not to worry about being on time, they were going to try and figure out the rental car deal if we weren�t there when their plane arrived.

So here�s the deal. We rented a Ford Mustang convertible. It�s green and very cute. Unfortunately while it�s the perfect size for two people on the road, there�s no way in hell it will fit the four of us and our luggage. While we were in Pasadena staying at K�s sister�s house (the cutest Sears Craftsman home ever) we called Hertz and tried to get the Chrysler Sebrion we had originally requested � they�re a bit bigger (though probably not by much). No luck. We even drove out to the Burbank airport to try and track something down.

So, to make a long story short we may be stuck with this car �we all really want to stick with the convertible. To try and make more space, K and I went to the4 post office in Williams, AZ yesterday and bought two big boxes. Last night in Holbrook we packed up a bunch of our stuff (yes, we overpacked�.we really overpacked) � keeping the basics (we are now entering the Zen portion of the trip) and shipped them off from Chambers, AZ. Cost $15 a box. An expensive lesson indeed.

The trip so far has been mostly fun. The first two days were sort of hit and miss though as we spent most of them in Southern California. Finally hit a groove on Sunday as we found long, uninterrupted stretches of Route 66 and lots of funky, kitschy old motels and diners and other artifacts.

Last night we were going to stay at the Wigwam Motel in Holbrook � the cutest little teepee rooms you�ve ever seen. But they didn�t have phones and we both really needed to make some phone calls. That and the owner (whose father built the place in the late �40s reminded me too much of Norman Bates�he was quite the chatty Cathy in a lonely sort of narcissistic way. It was kind of creepy. Anyway, we did buy some really cool plaster-of-paris tee pees and then hit up the trusty Motel 6.

I do miss GB. I miss sharing things with him and his goofy sense of humor. Though I know what sort of things we would argue over (where to eat�where to stop) but I just miss seeing him and touching him and it�s a little hard to think that it will be 8 more days until I see him.

Tonight he�s going to dinner with Guitar Girl and then they�re headed over to the open mic at the caf�. I�m trying not to be jealous. It seems ridiculous to be jealous. She�s 10 years younger �it just feels a bit strange to me. But she is friends to both of us I guess and it would be no different than if I went to dinner with Angel Boy �

So we�re going to pick up J and KM and then we�re off to Santa Fe where we stay at some nice hotel I can�t really afford. This trip is turning out to be more expensive than I had anticipated. Isn�t that always the case? I think I will be OK if I don�t spend more than an additional $500.

Hopefully when I go to post this tonight the laptop won�t start going haywire again, typing messages like �quang four hands� �.(?????)

Music for the miles so far: (an incomplete rundown) Jawbreaker, Wilco, Dirty 3 (late at night underneath the starry Arizona sky on a deserted Route 66), Shelby Lynne, Birthday, Cake, Weezer, Cash Brothers, Webb Brothers and too many to list right now..It hink we�re about to make a bathroom stop�more later

Oh yeah, last night I dreamt I made out with Mick Jagger � he came on to me at a show at the club. Sleater-Kinney was the opening band�.

hmmmm

...an update....we're in Santa Fe right now...had dinner downtown at this Southwestern place ...I am still stuffed but--in fact I feel a little sick...but it was really good.

In truth, I'm kind of exhausted, emotionally and physically...I'm hoping a night of sleep will help my mood...

more later

10:21 p.m. - 2001-07-24

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate