-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

put the key in the lock and turn ....

I signed papers on my mother's house and in a few days it will no longer be ours. Before then, I will go there one last time, turn the key in the lock and say goodbye. I will get the last of our things from the garage and check all the cabinets and drawers and closets.

I will walk in the back yard, where my brothers used to play in the rickety tree house we inherited from the family who lived there before us.

(Sometimes I have trouble believing anyone ever lived here before we did. It was only us, I think again and again).

At some point my mother had the tree house lowered to the ground for fear it would collapse. Eventually, she had it boarded it up, worried that its rotting sides would splinter into my brothers' skin. They tore out the weakly nailed two-by-fours and played in it anyway.

I will give the blushing pink roses one last look and then go back inside and leave a note for the new owners. I will give them my phone number and email address. I will tell them when the garbage and recycling gets picked up. I'll let them know about the extra planks of flooring in the garage. I will tell them how much my mother loved her house and that I'm glad it's going to people who seem to appreciate it as much as she did.

I will put the key in the lock and turn it again, one last time. I will stare at it for a few moments from my car and possibly cry. I'll hope that Marilyn, the irritating neighbor, doesn't see me and want to talk. I'll drive away and wonder about the next time I'll drive by to see it. It's only a matter of when, not if.

8:08 pm - 09.07.19

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

If only - 13.08.19 - 11:35 am

a slow wave of loss - 12.08.19 - 11:38 am

racing to a close - 06.08.19 - 7:54 pm

multitudes - 31.07.19 - 12:35 pm

to laugh at how you break - 22.07.19 - 11:45 am

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

thruthecrowd
andrew
narcissa
histamine
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
inarticulate
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
catsoul
dirtyboots
ratherbored
dangerspouse
silverluna
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
dearedwin
ann-frank
colddigits
miralogue
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
mrs-roboto
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
miserystar
secret-motel
raven72d
allmadhere
widgetbitch