-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

what else is new, right?

It's been an interesting week. Finished my draft for the dream pub (to be very clear, it's a dream pub to me--it's not the New Y0rker, the Atlant1c or 0prah or anything, but to me it's everything). Waited anxiously for feedback as I worked on another story for the weekly. Finally heard back today: "We love your writing ... I have some notes on structural changes so it's more X than Y"....WHEW. I had figured this might be the case because what I turned in was a little different than what they usually ran, although to be fair it aligned with her initial email to me. In any case when I submitted the draft I told her if it wasn't right structurally or in content or tone I was more than down for changes. So, even though a revision is in the forecast (she's supposed to get me the feedback by end of day) I still feel immensely relieved that it didn't suck to the point that they just wanted to pay a kill fee.

Oh, and have invoiced the other pub so that is still on track. So far I've only told B&P --at C's urging. I'd already told P about the magazine and she'd already been excited about that ("I'll have to buy a copy! I never even buy magazines!") and this made them both tear up, which was wonderful in that way it feels when BFFs are rooting for you.

Oh, and the other thing: Last night I got a call from the HR manager at the weekly where I used to be EIC. The EIC they hired to replace me? Seems like they're letting him go today. I've tried very hard in the last year to not speak ill of him. It's a tough job and they keep making cuts to the newsroom, which does not help. But. Still. I am not exactly surprised for various reasons--complete lack of organization for starters.

Anyway, HR guy wants to know if I can help out while I'm still on break. It'll be a squeeze--I'm not even remotely ready for the new semester to begin (ha, speaking of lack of organization)--but I said yes. Supposed to meet with him tomorrow. It'll be nice to be back in the newsroom for a while, plus the money will help chip away at some recent bills.

I texted RH, one of the editors there, not sure if he knew what was going ot happen today.

Me: Hey, did you happen to talk to HR guy today?

RH: Yep

Me: Just wanted to makes sure.

RH: Dooooo itttttttttt

Me: Told HR guy we'll figure something out.

So, there's that.

Now I have five weeks to do that and get ready for school. I'll make it work; honestly I work better with structure and deadlines and pressure anyway.

I mean, what else is new, right?

11:01 am - 26.07.18

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

Let's say that to each other more often, OK? - 21.08.18 - 3:49 pm

we all have that one friend, right? - 20.08.18 - 10:50 am

happy and grateful - 14.08.18 - 9:48 am

sickish - 02.08.18 - 8:21 pm

smoke, ash and self-loathing - 29.07.18 - 7:31 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
thruthecrowd
histamine
narcissa
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate
andrew