-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

it's the music that matters

here's a music survey I moused from whatgoeson (who, I am sure enjoyed last night's Gilmore Girl musical references as much as I did...). I did this really fast so I can't vouch for it's total accuracy. Answers subject to change at any time.

What was the first record you ever owned (bought for you)?

Some Disney record � I had a ton of them � Cinderella, Snow White, Peter Pan etc. But I think the first record someone bought for me that was, um, a little more mature was the Donny & Marie TV series record and it was a Christmas gift when I was 7.. I don�t remember the name of it but I used to know every song by heart.

What was the first album you ever bought?

Oh. Ouch. I bought two on one day. The Grease soundtrack (that�s not the ouch part) and Styx�s �Paradise Theater�. That is the ouch part. I was in the 5th grade. But I did quickly redeem myself by buying a few Blondie records.

What song reminds you most of your childhood?

Of my childhood? Well aside from all those Donny & Marie songs, �That�s No Way to Treat a Lady� I don�t know who sang it but I remember singing it in the car with my dad when I was four. That and �Afternoon Delight� by Starland Vocal Band and �Hey Nineteen� by Steely Dan. Oh and anything by the Carpenters. My mother used to give me Carpenters tapes to listen to in my room when I was sick.

If your life was a movie, what songs would play over the following:

Opening credits: Jawbreaker �Accident Prone�

Sad scenes: Nick Drake �Time of No Reply� or Jeff Buckley�s �Grace�

Sex scenes: almost anything by the Rolling Stones

Happy scenes: Mary Margaret O�Hara �When You Know Why You�re Happy� or �A New Day�

Closing credits: Elliot Smith �Ballad of Big Nothing�

If you could spend a night with two musical artists - one for their mind and one for their body, who would it be?:

mind: one of two of my favorite songwriters: Bob Dylan or Elvis Costello (though I find them both particularly sexy as well � even Bob at age 60!). On the slightly younger side maybe Jeff Tweedy from Wilco

body: Mick Jagger is still pretty hot (what is it with me and older men?) or Ryan Adams or Beck. Or Charlie Sexton (Dylan's current guitarist and a pretty good singer-songwriter in his own right), Mmmm.

If you had someone coming over and wanted to impress them, what CDs would you hide? None! If you don�t understand my 60s girl group fetish or my Dolly Parton obsession then you obviously don�t understand me.

Name an album that is perfect all the way through - no filler, no bad stuff:

Mary Margaret O�Hara �Miss America�

If your music collection were about to go up in flames, which five albums would you save?: Mary Margaret O�Hara �Miss America�; Patsy Cline �Greatest Hits�; The Beatles - "Revolver"; Jawbreaker �Dear You�; Liz Phair �Exile in Guyville�

What now-defunct band would you most like to see reunite?: The Smiths or the Cocteau Twins

Music you like that could be considered a guilty pleasure: 70s disco

If applicable, name a song or concert that moved you to tears:

Concert: Alejandro Escovedo singing Mott the Hoople�s �I Wish I Was Your Mother�, acoustic.

Song: Mary Margaret O�Hara �You Will Be Loved Again�

Name one musical artist you would like to see banished: Kid Rock or Eminem for starters

Name a song you would rather never hear again: Who Let the Dogs Out�if you could call it a song.

Which underrated artist deserves more attention?:

Don�t get me started on that question. About 80 percent of my record collection deserves mass popularity.

Favourite music-related movie: "Purple Rain� � it�s a classic!!! Or Bob Dylan�s �Don�t Look Back�

Favourite video of all time: Don�t laugh: Madonna�s �Borderline�. It still makes me feel all dreamy and melodramatic. Sigh, or A-ha�s �Take on Me� You know � the classics!

Favourite artist/group of all time: Beatles/Stones/Hank Williams and Patsy Cline.

2:09 pm - 10.24.01

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate