-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

questions and answers

The wonderful Myra-Lee left some questions in my guestbook on Friday and at long last, here are my answers: (If you would like me to leave you similar questions in your guestbook, then leave me a message):

1.If you could go back and do something differently in your life, would you?

Oh definitely. If I could relive the years of my life, ages 18-21 I definitely would. If I could go back and live those years with more confidence, more self-esteem, more self-awareness I think that my life would be so different now. And while I�m almost mostly content with my life there are things about it I wish I could change and those things always seem to date back to those particular years when I was an emotional Etch-a-Sketch at the hands of my first major relationship. Sometimes I just wish I could travel back in time and throttle my younger self and tell her: Get out! Get out! There�s this whole world awaiting you, so many opportunities. You don�t have to be with this loser. And actually, I stayed with the loser for many years beyond age 21 � but I think if I could have throttled me during that particular time period, things would be a lot different. Then again, I am who I am because of it all, so what good is it to dwell on the what-ifs. Which isn�t to say that I don�t occasionally dwell, because I do.

2.What one person has had the greatest influence on you?

Hmmm. A very tough question. In many ways I suppose it was my mother � the adoptive mother � for better or for worse because she was/is the parent who�s been there for me the whole time (well, almost the whole time �at least since I was four). But the Ex (see above) definitely had a lot of influence during my 20s (although I cringe at using the word "great" to describe his influence � let�s just call it "significant") and I feel as if I�m still shaking a lot of that off. Right now I�m trying to be my greatest influence. Which is a lot harder than it sounds.

3.Name three people you consider geniuses.

Just three??? Where to start? Since I�ve been concentrating on my writing so much lately, I�ll stick to that field: Joan Didion, Margaret Atwood and David Sedaris come immediately to mind. I wish that I could write like all three of them wrapped up in one lovely literary package.

4.Who do you think is the most overrated person of our time?

I can�t think of just one person � so I�ll go with a group of persons: rich people. Rich people are over-rated. Somebody has money and we automatically award them power and influence, admiration and respect. Which I think is a crock of sh*t.

5.If you could suddenly acquire any one skill or ability, what would you like it to be?

To sing and play guitar. I wouldn�t even need to have a great voice � if I could sing/write/play like Liz Phair circa Exile in Guyville or Whipsmart - I�d be happy.

10:43 am - 09.01.03

sounds: from through the open window: the occasional sound of a car driving by
words: Pau1 B0w1es
i am: enjoying my three-day weekend

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate