-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

worry, worry, worry

Less than six weeks until finals and I feel as though I'm playing circus ringmaster and also using spit and gum just to keep everyone going. N's death still weighs heavily because it underscores how quickly you can become invested in your students' lives--even if you really only spend a few hours with them during the week. I have another student who was hospitalized for viral meningitis (he's out of the hospital and doing better now) and another who is currently hospitalized for some unexplained spinal issues. Then there is the girl who has missed classes because of domestic violence issues. I had her in a class last semester when she broke up with her boyfriend and missed a few classes to deal with it. This time I'm not sure if it's the same boyfriend but she sent me a note from a counselor at a local women's shelter. Then there's the student today who stayed after class to ask for advice on how to talk to a friend who may or may not be showing signs of mental illness.

Oh, and then there's L, one of my favorites, who's been dealing with his alcohol-addicted, mentally ill brother.

I know I can't play therapist but I try to listen and recommend resources and I try to let them know that I know they have lives beyond the classroom and that, ultimately, their mental and physical well-being takes priority over everything.

Sometimes, often, I worry that I'm not doing enough. I just worry, worry, worry.

7:37 pm - 31.10.17

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

may the fourth be with you... - 25.01.18 - 6:38 pm

tiny failures every day - 15.01.18 - 1:22 pm

hustle along now - 19.12.17 - 1:35 pm

no easy way to there from here. - 27.11.17 - 7:17 pm

give me a glimmer - 08.11.17 - 9:45 am

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
thruthecrowd
histamine
narcissa
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate
andrew