-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

there's something about the summer

Just have to post grades for one more class and then I am done. DONE. Done for three months. Thirteen weeks, to be exact. I'm done grading but there is one student who didn't turn in his final project and so I am waiting until tomorrow. He technically had until today at noon to file it for 10 points off. I entered zero credit into the online system we use and he should get a notification. Why do I even care? Why am I giving him an extra day (with another 10 points off, though)--I don't know, I just am.
In any case, this semester was a rough one. I think I would have managed much better if not for the class I had to take. All those super-long days and nights really got the best of me. I thought spring break would give me a recharge but in a sense it only made it seem worse--I think because I spent most of spring break trying to catch up and then still felt exhausted when school started again. It made me reconsider when and how I'll start taking classes again. I want to--both for educational and professional development but also because if I get 24 more units I'll move into a new pay scale, which would mean an almost $10K raise. But, I most certainly need to pace myself. I won't take anything in the fall but perhaps next spring I'll do something on the "easier" side--something less time-intensive than a class that involves making and editing videos.
Anyway, summer. I'm not ready for the heat but I'm ready for the chance to catch up on my life, sleep in and read and enjoy the things other people enjoy in their free time. My summer will essentially be a do-over on all my missed nights and weekends of the last four months.
Next week we fly to Texas to visit my stepdad. I'll meet a second cousin I don't really know. I think I met him a million years ago at a family reunion when I was 12. He's my dad's cousin but was very good friends with my biological mother. My stepfather is the one who put us in touch with the caveat that he, the uncle, doesn't really want to talk about my dad. No problem, me either. At all.
Summer, here we go

5:07 pm - 17.05.18

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

mostly just relief - 13.06.18 - 3:54 pm

to smooth down the rat's nest - 09.06.18 - 4:47 pm

i don't like discos - 06.06.18 - 2:56 pm

welcome, ghosts - 04.06.18 - 8:54 pm

a different state of mind - 21.05.18 - 6:26 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
thruthecrowd
histamine
narcissa
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate
andrew