-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

peak burnout right on cue

Feel as though I am reaching peak burnout right on cue. Next week is the start of midterms and it's just been nonstop between Job A and Job B.
This last week or so was particularly tough; it's the time of year in which tenure track teachers get evaluated and even though this is my third rodeo I felt particularly nervous about it this time around--probably because I feel as though the juggling of two jobs has really split my focus and frazzled my nerves (because, well, it has). And so I felt like a beleaguered college student once again, cramming for finals, unable to sleep, turning mad.

It seemed to pay off--I've had great evals so far. I'm still awaiting the one from my dean but he assured me it would be good.

That said, I have to find some balance in my life. I'm not sure if this means quitting Job B or cutting back drastically. I do know it means, at the very least, making fewer commitments to things and scheduling in more down time for naps and reading and walks and the like.

Oh, one other thing though. The exciting publishing thing has turned into an exciting international (UK) publishing thing. Again, it's likely only exciting to me but I'm legit freaking out—in part because I nearly missed THIS email too. Like, deleted it in a fit of cleaning out press releases and spam. Thank goodness she was persistent.

Between this and the dream magazine publication (out on stands now!) I've come to realize that more than anything I need to shift my time commitments and priorities if I want to focus more on my writing. Let's see where this thing takes us, you know?

Back to work...

7:20 pm - 10.10.18

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

lonely is an eyesore - 21.11.18 - 10:46 am

smoke day - 15.11.18 - 10:25 am

merry-go-round without the merry - 10.11.18 - 3:41 pm

so, so tired - 07.11.18 - 10:27 am

the candle is just ashes now - 26.10.18 - 4:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
thruthecrowd
histamine
narcissa
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate
andrew