-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

quiet is the new loud

as usual you all amaze me in so many ways. I wish I could write as well as the both of you. I wish I could see as clearly or explain it as clearly or live it as clearly.

But no, just the same old me in my same old life.

Last night, the Swag show which turned out to be quite good despite the threat of a stormy mood post-record shopping. How can you not have a good time when you see a band that so clearly enjoys what it is doing? When the singer looked down at me and smiled there was this brief connection of 'yes, this is what we love to do more than anything else' and 'yes, these are the songs that rock my world and it's even better knowing how much you love doing what you're doing."

It's such a simple thing that doesn't come off well in explanation but it is at the heart of all that is rock'n'roll to me - and it defines why it is all so important to me. Unlike a book or a movie or a piece of recorded music or a piece of art - or live theater even - live music gives you this energy, this one-on-one connection, this sense that anything is possible. Naturally I'm not saying that you're going to find this feeling at, say, a Madonna spectacle or a U2 extravanganza or any sort of arena-styled rock. No this is live rock of the sweaty club variety and it's as good for you as a gym workout or a romp in the sack or anything else that gets your endorphins flying high....

I'm still in my So What if I Am Wasting My Life mood....tomorrow the three day weekend is over and I will supposedly get up and write in the morning and sometime this week I will practice guitar and I will Apply Myself at Work

and blah blah blah

but not tonight. Tonight is a trip to the movie house to see Ghost World, the new film by the guy who did "Crumb"...i've been wanting to see it for weeks now..so finally....

and i have nothing else to say...feeling slightly hollowed out, but surprisingly, reassuringly, not in a bad way....honest

np: Stereolab "Sound-Dust"

4:40 pm - 09.03.01

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate