-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

believe in what you want on a Sunday

sunday morning, almost over (nearly noon) Been up since 9:30, woke up without the aid of the alarm which is always a luxury. Went to bed semi-early (12:30) after watching "O Brother Where Art Thou" with GB. It was...OK...not the best of their films, but man did George Clooney ever remind me of Clark Gable..eerie...tonight is Swag. Before that we're going to go record shopping and then eat at our very favorite burrito place, Sweet Heat, on Haight. Oh yummy. I'm being extra good until then so I can indulge in their amazing white flour tortilla chips. You see, they just soak up the grease and for a girl whose stomach usually retches at the thought of super-greasy deep fried foods, well these are the definite exception. They are just pure perfection.

And what a nice weekend so far. Friday night was Barbara Manning & the Go-Luckys and at first we were both so tired we almost left the club before they even started but then GB got waylaid by the Go-Luckys, Flavio and Febrezio and they were so sweet and cute (where is your wife? I remember her, she has black hair!!) and so we were all in love again and had to stay. There has never been a set of German twin brothers as cute as these two. I want to adopt them and bring them home. After the set they attacked me like puppy dogs, giving me sweaty, post-rock hugs and smiles with those big shining brown eyes. We've already decided to name our next cat after one of them, only it's hard to decide between two glorious names like Flavio and Febrezio. Anyway, musically all was great, Barbara sounded wonderful and the music was super-charged. And of course, as usual, this wayward crown princess of indie rock was unfailingly gracious and sweet-natured. Though I can't help but laugh every time I see her now, reminded of the time she asked me to get stoned in the bathroom at the Great American Music Hall as she lamented "you get dropped from Matador and nobody wants to be your friend."

Yesterday we slept in a bit and then ran a few errands including getting lighter guitar strings for my acoustic. And yes I am amazed at the difference on the fingers. As I purchased them at the counter, the clerk recognized my name and asked "are you A--'s sister?" Why, yes I am....seems he's an old friend of my youngest brother . He told me, you probably don't remember me, but I remember you.

I told him, truthfully, I remember your name but not your face--but that' s only because I probably haven't seen you since you were half my height. Very true, he replied and we realized it had probably been about, oh 12 years since I'd last seem. Now he was all grown up (kind of) selling me guitar strings. He inquired about my brother, not having seen him for at least four years now (since high school graduation..oh my god has it been that long..damn) and was happy to hear that he'd just enrolled in college to start a degree in computer programming.

Still into computers huh? he asked. Then we commiserated even further on the differences between A-- and S--my other brother --only two years difference in age but light years apart in personality and temperement. And I'm much more similar to A then to S. S being the status-hungry, status quo, easygoing mainstream kid who just bought a house in a subdivision north of here; A and I being the ones who were always slightly left-of-center, sullen and quiet in the shadows...

And then, wonderful Saturday afternoon naps and a movie on the VCR (when was the last time we did that on a Saturday night?) and now, quiet and solitude this morning. GB is still asleep and I'm drinking all the coffee I made for the two of us and that's OK.

And I've come to realize I'm just a slacker at heart and I'm definitely Wasting My Life and tomorrow that will start to bother me again (as it has been, this feeling bubbling beneath the every day surface) but today is Sunday and slacking is OK on Sundays so I am safe...

11:51 am - 09.02.01

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate