-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

circles and squares

(please don't forget to check out my request)

class last night was not too bad, all things considered.

All things considered being that I had to workshop a story that I felt like I absolutely hated.

I popped an at1van (seriously) an hour before class, because I didn't want my hands and voice to shake when Mr. Very Distinguished Writer (VDW) made me read an excerpt from said story.

That little trick worked, thankfully. I was remarkably calm.

I think the workshop went well. Meaning that mostly the things people didn't like/get about the piece were things I already didn't like/get.

And surprisingly more people than not seemed to like it.

The only thing that frustrated me (and not on the parts of them but on the part of me) was that once again I'm having a specific issue with characterization (same issue as last time). And though I thought I had made strives to improving that, I guess I hadn't.

VDW noted as such in his written critique. But he also said that I had "lovely language" that, in some places was "in top form" but in a way that didn't make you think about how lovely it was (the "best kind of lovely writing," he wrote).

His final comment on my written critique was that I should be "very proud" of what I turned in.

And I'm trying to figure out if he means I should be proud because it is actually decent and on the right track. Or perhaps, knowing how reluctant I was to workshop this particular piece (per a discussion we'd had), he only wanted to encourage me, make me feel a little better.

Maybe the truth is somewhere in the middle?

Amazingly though, last night I didn't hate anyone. It was the At1van I think.

I even got a laugh out of people when, during our usual pre-workshop "let's talk about stuff" session, I said that what was keeping me writing these days was the thought of my school bill and putting Death C@b for Cut1e's "Ph0to Album" on repeat for hours straight.

I mean, at least I don't think anyone thought I was a total freak.

A few things helping me get through these too-hot-for-October-and-I-have-way-too-much-work-and-homework-days:

  • Ge0rge Jones tomorrow night in Reno
  • My hot new black pointy-toed, silver-buckled shoes---from Tar-jay no less
  • haircut and haircolor tonight
  • new Lush products on their way

and that is all.....for now.....

4:40 pm - 10.24.03

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate