-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tiny lights

thank you for your nice words and understanding

and thanks to K for the wonderful, sweet card

and thanks to my mom

things are much better now.

I had lunch with my mom which was nice and then, totally out of the blue, she slips me a check for a couple of hundred dollars.

I hadn't even told her how broke I was.

I started crying again. But this time it was a better kind of crying.

She told me it was because I've always been so much more independent than my brothers and as a result they tend to "get a lot more out of" her than I do and she wanted me to get something now and then too.

And I told her that I never expect her to give me money. I don't even want her to.

I've never asked for her money in the 13 years since I moved out (just weeks after graduation). The only thing I ever asked her to do was co-sign a car loan (which she did) and to maybe co-sign an apartment loan in NYC (which she would have but I ended up not needing her too after all).

Anyway. You've got to know my mom. And know how hard she works for others. Taking care of my grandparents. Taking care of my brothers. And how much money she doesn't make.

And she still feels the need to take care of me.

That feels really good. I know I don't always appreciate her enough. Or at least show that appreciation.

Like I said, lunch was good, not just for the money. But because we talked for a long time about various things. We're going to try and take a little weekend trip together in October or something.

and right now I'm listening to a really good CD by a Northwestern band (i think) called Fernando. The CD is called "dreams of the sun and the sky" and I know you can buy it from Amazon (search under the CD name, not the band name). And I just love it. So sad and pretty. Melancholy, mournful. And smart. And different.

That's my music recommendation of the day.

3:01 pm - 08.24.01

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate