-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i don't know the meaning of no trespessing

So I never actually talked to my biological mother yesterday�rather we traded a few phone messages�

And it all got me thinking and feeling sad.

The short version of the story is this: I was separated from my mother when I was two and did not see her again until I was 26.

She lives in Texas. I live here and we don�t see each other often but we are trying to forge some sort of relationship.

I have never met my maternal grandmother.

Or rather I haven�t seen her since I was two and I don�t remember her.

On a message my mother left me yesterday she said my grandmother is probably not going to live much longer.

The one time I�ve gone to the town where my mother (and grandmother) live, my mother told me she (my grandmother) was too confused to meet me. She said it would be too hard on me to see her that way.

That was two years ago.

It didn�t sit well with me then but I let it go.

I don�t think I can let it go any longer.

I don�t think I could forgive myself if I didn�t pursue the chance to meet her.

Even if she doesn�t know me � at least she saw me as a child and somewhere in the recesses of her mind she holds that memory.

I�d like to have some such memory.

Today I�ve been researching airfares. So far the cheapest roundtrip I�ve found is $239. Not bad. But since no airlines actually fly into my hometown we must also rent a car.

And as my mother and her husband live in a small (but very lovely) house (that just incidentally happens to be on the same street that I lived on when I was a baby and still with my mother) we will probably get a hotel room as well.

We don�t really have the money right now but GB agrees that now is the time to do it. Before he goes back to work � before something happens to my grandmother.

Now I just have to talk to my (biological) mother about it.

I hope she doesn�t try and talk me out of this.

By the way...my father never responded to the birthday card I sent him. He never returns my phone calls. In August it will be three years since the last time we spoke.

My mother - the other mother, the adoptive one - (and yes, the father in question is the biological one--sorry it's so complicated) - says this is all to punish her. That he told her as much the last time she spoke to him (two years ago).

The sad thing is that that is just the kind of the thing that would make sense to my father.

Of course I know he's never forgiven me either.

Never forgiven me for choosing to live with my (adoptive) mother when they divorced when I was 11.

You know, I look just like him...God help me if I ever become like him...

1:15 pm - 05.13.02

sounds: Damien Jurado & Gathered in Song : I Break Chairs
words: The God of Small Things / Shredding Paper magazine
i am: confused

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate