-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

fried my little brains

So, I can't remember if I mentioned this in the last entry (and if i did, forgive me and I blame it on the condition), but I've discovered a new mental/physical condition that I've taken the liberty to name Post-Vacation Stress Disorder.

That's what happens when you take two blissful weeks off from work and then, when you return to the job you are suddenly sucked dry of all energy, stamina and get-up-and-go.

That's what happened to me last week.

Last week knocked me out - and I still haven't fully recovered. Being required to, you know, work really did a number on me and I felt like I did pre-thyroid medicine.

I still feel that way - despite 12 hours of sleep Saturday night. But then the weird thing was I went to bed at 11:30 last night -exhausted - but couldn't sleep. It was as if I were too tired to even do that.

So, I'm at home today taking a mental health day (or, as they say in the biz, I called in sick)...determined to not do to much other than read and watch TV. I'm hoping that one day of stress-free being will rejuvenate me enough to handle the rest of the week. (As opposed to two weeks of stress-free living that, in turn, created an avalanche of tasks and worries at the job).

Hopefully it will not backfire - but I know what my deadlines are at work and although it will require a slight amount of cramming tomorrow, unless all hell breaks loose, it should be OK.

(Short station break while we pray to the powers-that-be to not let all hell break loose).

Besides this is only my third sick day this year - pretty good, I'd say. Especially compared to 2002 when I used up all of my sick days thanks to a bout with bronchitus (in the spring) and a killer cold (in the fall).

So anyway, yes, that's what I'm going to do, which means I'm going to get away from the computer (step away from the computer Shivers - it'll be alright...) and plant myself on the couch...no guilt, no errands to run, no lists to check, no stress, no worries...

10:16 am - 08.11.03

sounds: TV infomercials...
words: yesterday's paper
i am: suffering from PVSD

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate