-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

it's not always going to be this grey

Two days before the election and I'm sitting here at my desk, under the pretense of working, listening to the playlist I made for my mother's funeral and thinking about the election.

Hardly a day has gone by in the last eight or nine months in which I have not wondered what she would have thought about all of this. She was a nurse, very scientific-minded, very logical. She loathed Trump and wanted Elizabeth Warren to win the primary. She was the same age as Warren and the physical resemblance between the two women still startles me sometimes.

C. is optimistic about the election. I am not. Hoping for the best but expecting the worst as I puzzle over the polls and electoral college numbers.

My heart feels so heavy today. I miss my mother. What I wouldn't give to go back to the days when she drove me crazy with her logical questions and rhetoric. What I wouldn't give to just go back to feeling like she didn't understand me half the time, all the while knowing that, despite this, she loved me no matter what.

At least there's finally a chill in the air. I'll take autumn's melancholy over general malaise any day.

12:01 pm - 01.11.20

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

sister to a father of a thought - 22.11.20 - 1:40 pm

shotgun down the avalanche - 21.11.20 - 3:25 pm

spirits in the trees and drown all the clocks 'til there's none - 13.11.20 - 10:30 pm

a shift back to democracy - 09.11.20 - 5:36 pm

georgia (and other states) on my mind - 05.11.20 - 1:56 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
browndamask
linguafranca
reddirtgirl
jimbostaxi
achmardi
muppet23
inarticulate
widgetbitch
jim515
u-saved-me
silverluna
andrew
thruthecrowd
narcissa
dangerspouse
histamine
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
birdandegg
fuck--that
sparkspark
gizzhead
veganfuckk
oh-sweet-pea
boombasticat
astralounge
ratherbored
but-whatever
gingeryette
dearedwin
ann-frank
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
miserystar
allmadhere