-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the birds of summer...

Thought I was going to have ample time today to post an entry�but pre-trip frustrations, anxieties, last-minute tasks have steadily chipped away at the hours and suddenly it is nearly 5pm.

This morning I was awakened at 5:58 a.m. by the crying sound outside our bedroom window. It was a persistent, mewing sound � I couldn�t determine whether it was a bird (it had the tone of a bird) or a poor, abandoned kitten. My not-so-secret hope was that it would be a poor, abandoned kitten because everyone knows that if you find a poor, abandoned kitten outside your window (especially if you find it at 5:58 a.m.) then you have to keep it.

So, still half-asleep, I pulled a sweatshirt over my tank top � already had boxers on � slipped on some flip-flops and headed outside to the backyard. I stood there in the brisk air of the emerging day and listened. And listened. There were two sounds now: that persistent mewing and a louder, more aggressive squawk. I finally followed the sounds up to the peak of the highest tree. And there was Mama or Papa bird squawking indignantly. Right beneath the parent bird was a smaller, baby bird � tucked into its nest, its little bird mouth wide open and crying.

No abandoned kittens here � just another hungry morning feeding.

Oh well.

Back to bed for another hour.

Last night GB and I sat on our front porch and watched the sun set � and the first stars of the evening appear � while we sipped on Hefeweizen beer with lemon. It was breezy and cool � the heat of the day had finally subsided.

It helped me to relax a bit � the last few days have been stressing me out to no end.

And tonight, post-haircut and visiting the Kids (or else we won�t see them again until July23 when they get back from their European tour) I must pack, write out a kitty-care list for K and god only knows what else �hopefully we can slip in one more beer on the porch. A pre-bed beer to help me relax � to defray my nerves and uncoil my muscles.

Must go�more later perhaps. I�ll have the laptop w/ me so perhaps I�ll update from LA.

5:30 pm - 06.19.02

sounds: Maroons - You're Going to Ruin Everything
words: Zadie Smith - White Teeth
i am: ack!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate