-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

somethings are born too strong .. got to learn how to fight

So what is it about all these punches to my stomach? Not literally of course, we�re talking figuratively here �but you know how I like to say that it �felt like a punch to the stomach� �well I don�t like to say it, I just do because it�s the easiest most succinct way to describe exactly what some of these emotional feelings resemble. ANYWAY, I think the figurative is turning literal �

My stomach has been hurting since Friday night when GB & I got salads and spicy blue cheese fries for dinner. Then, I chalked it up to eating too much (though it was just a salad and not even half of the fries)�but my stomach had that I�m-way-too-stuffed feeling. Or maybe, I thought, maybe it�s blue cheese. I don�t normally eat cheese you see �but then the feeling remained. And remained. And remained. And even when I was hungry I had that I�m-way-too-stuffed feeling. Even yesterday. Even today kind of. What it feels like really is that I have been punched in the stomach. My stomach feels bruised and sore and swollen. It�s not quite as bad today but last night it really hurt. I was lying in bed when GB came in to talk to me and put his hand on my stomach and started rubbing it and I realized how sore it felt. I told him and of course he got concerned and insisted that I call the doctor if the feeling persists. But with no visible bruises or explanation (such as, actually being punched in the stomach) what would I say?

�You see doctor, on Friday I had the salad and spicy blue cheese fries and I think I ate too much, though at the time it didn�t seem like a lot and well anyway now my stomach has hurt for three days straight and it feels like I�ve been punched hard only there are no bruises to show for it and no actual punch to report�

Yeah, right.

Maybe this is one of those metaphorical Amy Tan moments. I can�t remember which book it is in one the narrator�s mother is talking about a great uncle who died of stomach cancer because of all the misery and sadness and meanness he kept inside of himself.

And so maybe all my metaphorical punches to the stomach have now manifested into physical pain�

�stranger things have happened.

And maybe I am only rambling again �.

3:00 p.m. - 2001-06-11

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate