-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i'm still here

Well, as it turns out the exhaustion I felt as I wrote my last entry lo and nine days ago, turned out to be something other than just fatigue.

The "minor" medical procedure I had the day before Thanksgiving ended up not being so minor after all and, well, I am here to tell you if your doctor tells you to avoid ibuprofen for a few days well then you probably should just toss out the entire bottle because, apparently, six days is too soon.

Anyway.

I ended hemorrhaging blood a week ago Tuesday and we had to call 911 and for a split second I worried that I was actually dying and then I passed out as the paramedics tried to carry me out of the house and then for a split second when I came to, outside the house, I thought I'd been in a car crash. I spent two-and-a-half days in the hospital and I've been home since last Thursday but I still don't feel fully recovered.

One doctor told me I'd lost 30-40 percent of my blood and then another doctor said, no, it wasn't that much and you don't need a blood transfusion but it was still a lot and we'll need to check your hemoglobin levels again to make sure your body is regenerating blood. In the hospital they took so many vials out of me I felt like a vending machine. Tomorrow I go to the lab to give them yet another vial.

The first night they placed me in a COVID isolation ward until they could get a COVID test back and then that test didn't come back fast enough so I had yet another one and then finally they moved me to a general ward, where they placed me next to man whose phone blasted a new country music ringtone at all hours of the day and night.

The man—I think his name was Henry—told another patient that he was a regular there for various reasons but this stay was different.

"I'm usually on a different floor but now this is all that's available because the hospital has three floors filled with COVID patients," he said, all the while refusing to keep his mask over his nose.

It was a lousy two-and-a-half days, but I'm home and I'm still here.

3:03 pm - 09.12.20

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

at the storm's center - 28.01.21 - 8:23 pm

legal eagles - 25.01.21 - 9:08 pm

the hardest part is sleeping - 10.01.21 - 1:56 pm

new year, new headaches, new intentions - 04.01.21 - 8:43 pm

stick around, you might like it - 19.12.20 - 7:36 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
browndamask
linguafranca
reddirtgirl
jimbostaxi
achmardi
muppet23
inarticulate
widgetbitch
jim515
u-saved-me
silverluna
andrew
thruthecrowd
narcissa
dangerspouse
histamine
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
birdandegg
fuck--that
sparkspark
gizzhead
veganfuckk
oh-sweet-pea
boombasticat
astralounge
ratherbored
but-whatever
gingeryette
dearedwin
ann-frank
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
miserystar
allmadhere