-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

into the great wide open

So I have been pretty anti-people these last few days. I think it was brought on by the Fourth of July. It's one of those holidays that seems to lure the stupid, rude people out of their crawlspaces and into my personal space. From the rude idiot who sat behind me at "Minority Report" yesterday to the absolute fucking moron who ran the red light yesterday (that light had been red for about THREE minutes) to the gaggle of clueless, inconsiderate losers who chose to light their illegal firecrackers in front of OUR house (instead of theirs) at 11:45 p.m. on Thursday night.

Not to mention the mindless mob of people who used the 4th as an opportunity to display their patriotic fever with flag t-shirts and other red-white-and-blue clothing / accessories. I don't know WHY this bothers me so much. Last year I thought it was kind of funny - but this year it gets under my skin ... it's like we're all supposed to be riding this intense wave of patriotism. An intense wave of manufactured patriotism.

I'm not going to make myself look stupid and use this space to ramble on and on about how I think July 4th (and 9-11) has been turned into a marketing opportunity, a political tool and an excuse for fevered jingoism. Anyway, Castigada and Migraine Girl say it better than I ever could. Please go read them.

Spent the better part of yesterday waiting in Urgent Care for the privileged chance to see a doctor. Seems I have pinched a nerve of some sort - I had a numb, tingling feeling (or lack of feeling) in my left arm and hand and as the feeling started to spread to my legs and my face, I became a little freaked out. I am SUCH a hypochondriac...in any case the sharp, shooting pain I WAS feeling in my back and shoulder just made me freak-out more. So off to the doctor I go.

NOT a good idea on a Friday after the 4th when only TWO regular doctors are scheduled and EVERYONE in the WHOLE WORLD has been injured or is sick.

I'm not going to tell you how long I waited because your jaw will smash to the ground and break into little bits and then YOU will have to go wait to see a doctor - but let's just say I read an ENTIRE book - Francesca Lia Block's "Echo". Sure it's a rather short book (214 pages) and the print is kind of big and it's a very easy read...that's not the point. The point is I read the WHOLE thing PLUS an entire magazine while waiting...This just seems wrong...at least on principle...

But I did finally get some pain killers and some anti-inflammatory medication along with the diagnosis of "No Miss Shivers, you are not dying...yet"

Anyway.

I stayed home last night - GB went out to the Club and ended up at the studio with the Band where they sat and talked and listened to music until 4 a.m. while I stayed at home and wallowed in self-pity and painkillers.

This morning I vowed to be more people-friendly for the rest of the weekend.

Less prickly. Less on-the-edge

More fit for human consumption - or something like that. This will involve calling a friend I haven't seen in a while along with my cousin whom I miss dearly. At some point today I will shower and make myself presentable (I clean up real nice...) and venture out of the house and into the great wide open.

I'll let you know how it goes.

12:24 pm - 07.06.02

sounds: silence
words: New Yorker profile on Maya Lin / Weetzie Bat - Francesca Lia Block
i am: feeling better

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate