-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

smoke, ash and self-loathing

I almost deleted the last entry because upon rereading I worried that I sounded full of myself or smug or something like that. And maybe I do but rest assured I'm as anxious and full of self-loathing as ever.

The fires up north have lit the sky here into shades of dirty yellow and burnt orange--it's like a 70s-era landscape only you can feel the ash coating your skin, smell the smoke in the air. It's so intense that the temperature dropped 15 degrees from yesterday. Predicted high of 100 (yesterday's was 101) peaked at 85 or 86. It's surreal.

Much of P's family is on standby, awaiting orders to evacuate. C and I have bought/gathered some stuff to give her that she'll drive up to a shelter on Tuesday. All the pictures of the flames and news about the deaths--it just makes me feel helpless to the point that I've bought several boxes of diapers and baby wipes and cleaning supplies and t-shirts and socks and underwear for all ages because I don't know what else to do.

Hoping for relief soon.

7:31 pm - 29.07.18

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

the endless push-pull - 08.09.18 - 3:17 pm

Let's say that to each other more often, OK? - 21.08.18 - 3:49 pm

we all have that one friend, right? - 20.08.18 - 10:50 am

happy and grateful - 14.08.18 - 9:48 am

sickish - 02.08.18 - 8:21 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
thruthecrowd
histamine
narcissa
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate
andrew