-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

there she goes

Well I had full and good intentions of updating again yesterday but my doctor�s appointment turned into this three hour nightmare. OK, it wasn�t really a nightmare per se, but I was there two hours longer than I had expected. �

You see, I went to the doctor for this weird little infection I have near my mouth. Sounds pleasant doesn�t it? It�s this dried-out, red flaky thing by the left corner of my lips. It�s been there off and on since August. Mostly it�s not super-noticeable but when it flares up it�s quite unpleasant. When I saw my doctor back in September she told me I wasn�t getting enough Vitamin B-12 and told me to start taking prenatal vitamins. So, even though I thought this was just another ploy on her part to get me pregnant (she really wants me to start popping out babies � seeing as how ancient I am at the ripe old age of 31) � I did it. For a full month � hell, I�m still taking them because they are chockfull of all the essential stuff and so far they haven�t tricked my body into becoming pregnant. But alas, my little problem has not cleared up. Instead it just sort of cycles in and out.

So I finally scheduled another appointment and lo and behold when I woke up yesterday morning I had this terrific backache of the sharp-knives-in-my-shoulder-blade-and-lower-back-and-arm variety. Screechingly horrible pain. Great timing though. So the doctor (a different doctor than before) puts me through all those range-of-motion tests and agrees that, mmm hmmm, yes, you are indeed in a lot of pain there seeing as how you can�t move your neck or raise your arm or anything. She does a few little massaging motions on my shoulders which make me want to scream out with pain and in between grimaces I explain to her that these excruciating, rather debilitating backaches come on every few months or so for no apparent reason. They usually last for about a week during which time I survive on fistfuls of Advil and an over reliance on my heating pad. Anyway, the doc sends me off to X-Ray where I have to wait for-ever and then disrobe from the top down and put my aching back against a chilly X-Ray machine while the technician tries to joke about stuff. I don�t know what because by this point my back and neck and arms were really really hurting and I could barely pay attention.

Afterwards, after I am dressed again, I ran over to the pharmacy and picked up my triple-strength pain relievers and muscle relaxants (oh, and a steroid cream for the little skin thingy). Only you have to eat before you take the pain reliever and I hadn�t eaten in several hours and was starving. So I buy a granola bar and practically inhale that on the way back to the car. I drive back to work, get a Diet Coke and down a pill. Then I shut everything down and head over to the Co-Op to pick up dinner.

Only I guess that granola bar wasn�t exactly what they meant by �food� because suddenly I am very woozy and feel as if I�m in some sort of foodie dream and the bright lights hurt my eyes and it takes me a lifetime to pick out some figs (Figs? I never buy figs?!?) and rice and soy milk and bread and the like. A veritable lifetime. But the pain reliever is working. I am able to go home and whip up a wonderful dinner (black bean soup and cornbread) and even laugh my way through an episode of Gilmore Girls. �

But come 9:30 I am suddenly exhausted and very achy again. So down goes another pain pill and this time I take half a muscle relaxant as well. Then I figure, what the hell, I might as well sleep good tonight, and so I pop a melantonin. I prop myself up with the ice pack for about a half hour and read last week�s Newsweek which has me in tears as I read about the people on Flight 93 (from Sept. 11) and so there I am all weepy and woozy and finally I throw down the magazine (it never fails�whenever I read something about Flight 93 and those cell phone calls, I lose it) and drag myself out of bed to kiss GB goodnight. Very grateful that he is there and that my worst fears have yet to be realized. You see I get very worried when he is late from work. Mostly I can control the worry to an extent but if I�m having a bad day or am super-tired then worry can turn to panic and suddenly I�m convinced he�s lying dead on the freeway somewhere.

After the kiss I exchange the ice pack for my heating pad and within minutes I am like a brick. When I do awake (thank you my dear, damn cat), I am groggy and confused.

And that, my friends, is why I didn�t update again yesterday.

And then I was going to update this morning but first I had to restore a bunch of preferences on my computer that were lost after our e-mail program was virtually wiped out by the Goner virus. And then kaboom - a transform blows out somewhere and we are left sitting in the near-dark for nearly an hour. Then there is a project that has to be finished now and then it is lunch and I am starving.

And then it is now, and so�here I am�

And � the work is piling up �so there I go�

1:36 pm - 12.05.01

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

money can't buy happiness but it does buy small pieces of of serenity - 15.07.12 - 4:29 pm

sh)t's about to get real, y'all - 31.05.12 - 9:46 am

why the hell not? - 29.04.12 - 8:38 pm

Hear that lonesome whistle blow... - 02.04.12 - 5:18 pm

a faith in something I can't see - 30.03.12 - 3:33 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

moodswing
secret-motel
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
arajane
fuck--that
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
astralounge
boombasticat
oh-sweet-pea
but-whatever
gingeryette
ann-frank
dearedwin
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
reddirtgirl
kayemess
colddigits
miralogue
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
inarticulate