-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

we were all so much younger once

So very tired right now but I need to finish this article that is due tomorrow. it's for the alumni mag so it pays really well and, also, it's on an interesting topic (the college's social justice-aligned public policy program).

But...tired.

C. is busy today doing outside house things.

Finally received my mother's refund check from the IRS, which means we can close out her estate for good. This feels surreal. E, our financial advisor (and my mother's) said these things can sometimes take years, particularly when the family squabbles over details. That this is has basically only taken a year is good I guess, although it reminds me that it's been a year now since we sold her house; it's been nearly a year and four months since died; a year and six-and-a-half months since she was diagnosed.

I dreamt about her the other night. I can't remember what happened in the dream just that she was there and it felt nice to be with her for awhile.

I found an old journal the other day; one that an ex-boyfriend gave me that I ended up using when I first met C. As a flipped through it a snapshot of my mother fell out. In it, she's wearing white leggings and a loose, royal blue top over a white long-sleeved top. She has glasses perched atop her head--like I tend to wear them now--and she's smiling and waving at the camera. She's standing on a sidewalk surrounded by a grassy expanse of lawn and a fountain.

She looks happy. She looks younger than I am now.

2:08 pm - 02.08.20

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

under the zoom light - 23.08.20 - 2:01 pm

how i learned to write backwards - 18.08.20 - 1:33 pm

a sliver of a silver lining - 10.08.20 - 12:53 pm

fetch the bolt cutters - 07.08.20 - 2:24 pm

oh, sour grapes, because i lost my heart - 03.08.20 - 9:58 am

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

u-saved-me
muppet23
jim515
fuck--that
arajane
histamine
narcissa
dangerspouse
catsoul
dirtyboots
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
sparkspark
birdandegg
gizzhead
veganfuckk
ratherbored
but-whatever
oh-sweet-pea
astralounge
boombasticat
gingeryette
dearedwin
ann-frank
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
mrs-roboto
nudeplatypus
miserystar
inarticulate
thruthecrowd
andrew
allmadhere
silverluna
widgetbitch