-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

fruitless complaints

Week three of school and it's going OK so far--at least there is not yet a student whom I wish to murder, metaphorically speaking of course. I'm sure that will change.

Last semester it was this guy, O, who had to tell me every chance he could get that he already had a bachelor's degree. Which, great, but you still have to do the class assignments and not argue with me day in and day out that the technology I require (Google Docs, Slack) is too difficult (this despite multiple tutorials).

All of this is to say I used to think I would love online teaching, especially asynchronous classes. Sit around in my pajamas blasting music and answering emails at my leisure? Sign me up!

Oof. No.

One thing I have learned is that no matter how many ways I write out instructions in 10 million places, at least a third of the class will refuse to read any iteration of said instructions, choosing instead to pepper you with emails all weekend.

Anyway. It's a fruitless complaint at this point. Online teaching is tough--and I don't know how you homeschooling parents are managing right now because, again, oof.

My Facebook memories have informed me that today is the one-year anniversary of our last trip--to Joshua Tree to see Courtney Barnett at Pappy & Harriet's. The last time we traveled, got on a plane stayed in an AirBnB.

I miss it so much.

I miss traveling and friends and live music and eating out and generally just not worrying that every step or breath I take outside my home might be the one that gets me sick.

I know, I know. We all miss it. Shut up, Shivers, no one wants to hear you whine.

Again, fruitless complaints. Insert *shrug* emoji here.

May we all make it through this somehow before we love our ever-lovin-mental shit or physical health.

2:26 pm - 01.02.21

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

tired in the bones - 22.03.21 - 1:43 pm

baby, all we need is a shot in the arm - 13.03.21 - 8:13 pm

in the air - 09.03.21 - 7:11 pm

the pandemic wall is real - 03.03.21 - 6:11 pm

prelude to a reunion - 26.02.21 - 6:35 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
browndamask
linguafranca
reddirtgirl
jimbostaxi
achmardi
muppet23
inarticulate
widgetbitch
jim515
u-saved-me
silverluna
andrew
thruthecrowd
narcissa
dangerspouse
histamine
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
birdandegg
fuck--that
sparkspark
gizzhead
veganfuckk
oh-sweet-pea
boombasticat
astralounge
ratherbored
but-whatever
gingeryette
dearedwin
ann-frank
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
miserystar
allmadhere