-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

baby, all we need is a shot in the arm

C. got his first shot today--the Dolly shot!--and I am so relieved.

His chance to get it came about very quickly.

On Thursday I had a telehealth appointment with a nurse practitioner
about some various issues and at the end of it I asked when they expected to roll out vaccines for more age groups, etc. I told her I'd had my first shot but we had no idea when C. would be eligible, due to his age and the fact that he works from home, pandemic or otherwise.

We chatted for a bit about it and then she said she'd put his name on a wait list. "It's a long list but we have people turning down the shot, so we are trying to reach out to as many people as possible who do want it."

And then they called him on Friday morning! Just like that....

I drove to the clinic with him and waited in the car while he got the shot and then sat for the 15-minute observation period.

As I wondered if everything had gone okay, he texted me a link to Wilco's "A Shot in the Arm" and I smiled with an immense sense of relief.

He has to wait a month until his second dose, which will be on a Sunday; my second dose is next weekend.

It all feels as if someone is finally pulling back the curtains on a very dark and unsettling year. We can't see the full horizon yet, but we know it's there.

8:13 pm - 13.03.21

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

getting schooled - 17.09.21 - 8:30 pm

it's the start of the breakdowns - 04.06.21 - 7:44 pm

educate me - 06.05.21 - 2:26 pm

calling from beyond the grave, i just wanna say 'hi dad' - 07.04.21 - 9:21 pm

tired in the bones - 22.03.21 - 1:43 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

raven72d
browndamask
linguafranca
reddirtgirl
jimbostaxi
achmardi
muppet23
inarticulate
widgetbitch
jim515
u-saved-me
silverluna
andrew
thruthecrowd
narcissa
dangerspouse
histamine
dirtyboots
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
birdandegg
fuck--that
sparkspark
gizzhead
veganfuckk
oh-sweet-pea
boombasticat
astralounge
ratherbored
but-whatever
gingeryette
dearedwin
ann-frank
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
soapboxdiner
myra-lee
miserystar
allmadhere