-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the days are longer now

The days are longer now. The season arcs toward summer and there is more light but also so much darkness.

I am teaching online or, maybe, it is more accurate to say that I'm "teaching" online.

Some professors are doing live Zoom lectures and I am literally 100 percent 'fuck no' on that front. It is not the same as being in a classroom and my husband works from home and even though we're in separate rooms and I can close the door he can still hear me and I can still hear his endless work calls. Plus, my own issues aside, many of my students have crappy technology or very little tech at all or no wi fi or crappy wi fi and some of them work at "essential" businesses and are suddenly logging hours upon hours of overtime. There is no goddamned way I am going to require them to show up to a virtual class at a certain time.

It's been hard enough trying to get many of them to work in an asynchronous classroom setting. I've had at least five students across my classes drop out already and it's all just very fucking heavy right now.

But yesterday we went for a drive to see C's mom in the town 30 minutes from here. We brought her her belated birthday gifts from Spain and France (pre-pandemic obviously) plus tubs of Clorox wipes. We sat in her apartment but we didn't hug her of course.

We dropped by B&P's house, too, to exchange wipes and Lysol for some masks. We pulled up around back of their house and they opened the garage and we stood by our car and they stood, shivering in the cold, and we gave air hugs to their daughter and that's the life we're living now.

We're still healthy, we still have our jobs, we still have each other.

2:54 pm - 05.04.20

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

i could join the circus when they come to town - 15.05.20 - 5:41 pm

the good that won't come out, part 58 - 11.05.20 - 9:59 am

if i were brave - 07.05.20 - 8:56 am

the routine of it all - 01.05.20 - 2:39 pm

the line of demarcation - 23.04.20 - 8:47 am

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

andrew
jim515
narcissa
thruthecrowd
histamine
allmadhere
miserystar
catsoul
secret-motel
moodswing
yourtipsucks
arajane
fuck--that
sparkspark
dirtyboots
dangerspouse
birdandegg
veganfuckk
silverluna
u-saved-me
gizzhead
astralounge
ratherbored
oh-sweet-pea
boombasticat
gingeryette
but-whatever
dearedwin
ann-frank
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
mrs-roboto
widgetbitch
inarticulate