-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

of fluffs and purrs

Week two of school and I am spent.

How is it this exhausting just sitting in front of my computer all day, staring into Zoom windows and answering emails?

Of course it hasn't helped that we had to take our boy cat to the emergency vet yesterday. He was peeing all over the place and was very restless.

As it turns out he has a UTI - which is caused by (drumroll please) diabetes.

The vet said his glucose levels are very high--which is goddamned scary to think that he could have had what she calls a "crisis".

Sigh. My poor little guy.

He needs to lose weight (although, as it turns out the diabetes has already made him lose a pound in just a month) and he will have to get insulin shots twice a day for the rest of his life.

So we canceled our getaway we'd planned for later this month. Honestly, we probably won't go away overnight anywhere again for a long, long time and if we do we'll probably have to board him, the idea of which I don't really like.

I'm just glad he's OK right now. They gave him strong pain meds (in addition to everything else) and he has been so blissed out for the last 36-hours.

He's nine but he's a total mama's boy, my little baby, so I guess one good thing about remote teaching is that I've been able to spend all this time with him (not to mention the trip to the vet instead of having to take time off from work).

It's been such a hectic week that I've had to work every night (I should be writing a lecture on how to write leads instead of writing here but whatever).

Yeah, it's been a goddamned week but my fluffy guy is curled up at my feet, purring right now so I'm trying to just take in the moment.

7:17 pm - 03.09.20

sounds:
words:
i am:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previously on ... - next time on ...

and mom would stick a fork in daddy's shoulder - 07.10.20 - 11:05 am

wish me luck on sleeping - 28.09.20 - 3:58 pm

17 years later - 24.09.20 - 9:55 am

we're all probably OK, I guess. - 21.09.20 - 5:21 pm

in which the cat is better but i'm still fucking sad about everything - 04.09.20 - 7:02 pm

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

base

contact

random entry

guestbook

other diaries:

jimbostaxi
moodswing
achmardi
u-saved-me
muppet23
jim515
yourtipsucks
thruthecrowd
andrew
narcissa
histamine
dangerspouse
dirtyboots
secret-motel
catsoul
fuck--that
arajane
sparkspark
gizzhead
birdandegg
ratherbored
boombasticat
astralounge
gingeryette
but-whatever
oh-sweet-pea
dearedwin
ann-frank
miralogue
colddigits
kayemess
reddirtgirl
myra-lee
soapboxdiner
nudeplatypus
inarticulate
mrs-roboto
miserystar
allmadhere
widgetbitch
veganfuckk
silverluna
raven72d